25th February 2024  admin  Category :

The Dubai International Holy Quran Award (DIHQA) has disqualified 11 out of 103 contestants, who are participating in the 21st edition of the International Quran Recitation competition, for poor performance.

These included the contestants of China, Ireland, Georgia, Serbia, Macedonia, Sweden, Norway, Mauritius, Barbados, New Zealand and Singapore, he said. “The competitions unit has long prepared over 500 questions.”

According to him, the 14-categoty award has seen massive developments over the last 21 years. “An unprecedented 103 contestants are competing – for the first time – in the 21st session of the global competition this year, the ‘Year of Giving’.”

The competition is held annually under the aegis of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai. “The DIHQA, now a global leading hub for Quran memorisers, attracts high calibre scholars and competent full Quran memorisers from around the world.”

With eight new participants examined on Tuesday night, 39 full Quran memorisers have so far sat for the final tests of the competition’s 21st edition.

Tight memorisations and tuneful recitations have attracted large crowds from different nationalities to the Dubai Chamber of Commerce and Industry, where the contest sessions are being held at 10pm every night until Ramadan 20.

The fifth batch of competitors on Tuesday night were Mohamedou Abeka from Mauritania, Eren Pilgir (Turkey), Ismail Omar Madar (Somalia), Magomedov Gadzhimurad (Russia), Ak Muhammad Abdul Qadir Bin Pg Ibrahim (Brunei), Naadhih Abdul Hameed (Maldives), Ibrahim Samate (Guinea-Bissau), and Berte Oumarou (Cote D’ivoire).

Eight more contestants were to be examined on Wednesday night: Koanda Hassane from Burkina Faso, Asgary Manalocon Dirampatun (Philippines), Omar M S A S A Alrefai (Kuwait), Mohammed Wurrie Barry (Liberia), Mohamed Arkam Mohamed Hussain (Sri Lanka), Abduqodirzoda Muhammadjon (Tajikistan), Diallo Mamadou Tafsir (Guinea), and Abdul Rashid Tawab (Malawi).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *